About DR Congo

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Lava in Nyiragongo Volcano Crater

Lava in Nyiragongo Volcano Crater

Congo country located in central Africa. Officially called as the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the country has a 250mile coastline on the Atlantic Ocean. It is the second biggest country on the continent, only Algeria is bigger. The capital, Kinshasa, is placed on the Congo River approximately 320 miles from its mouth. The biggest city in central Africa, it serves as the country’s official administrative, cultural, and economical center.


The country is divided into 4 big climate areas. In the equatorial climate zone, temperatures are warm, the average monthly temperature nearly dropping below the mid-70s F. Humidity is very high, and it rains all through the year. Yearly precipitation at Eala, for example, average 71 inches. The subequatorial or tropical climate zone, marketed by distinct rainy and dry seasons, is found south and north of the equatorial area. The dry season lasts from 4 to 7 months, depending largely on distance from the Equator. In Kananga approximately 63 inches of precipitations falls yearly. Little dry spells of several weeks duration may happen during the rainy season.

Plant and animal life

Plant life is green and varies between climate zones. The heart of the Congo basin is blanketed by an intricate forest systems generally called as the equatorial rainforest. There trees reach height of 130 to 150 feet, and different species and varieties of plant proliferate. Woodlands and grasslands are feature of the tropical climate zone, while stands of mangrove dominate the coastal swamps. The eastern plateaus are covered by mountain forest, and grasslands, bamboo thickets, and Afro-Alpine vegetation happen on the highest mountains.

Animal life is also diverse and rich. Chimpanzees are found largely in the equatorial forest, and gorillas lives in the eastern mountains around Lake Kivu. Bonobos are also live there, though they are found just in lowland rainforests along the south bank of the Congo River. Elephants and various species of baboons and monkeys are found in forest and savanna woodlands; African forest elephants (a little, distinct species of elephant) are restricted to the forest.


The country’s big tropical specs contain a big river basin, a big valley, 3 mountain ranges, high plateaus, and a low coastal plain. Most of the country is composed of the middle Congo basin, a big rolling plain with an average elevation of approximately 1,700 feet above sea level. The lowest point of 1,110 feet occurs at Lake Mai-Ndombe and the highest point of 2,295 feet is reached in the hills of Zongo and –Mobayi-Mbongo in the north.


More than two-hundred African ethnic groups live in Congo; of these Bantu people constitute a big majority of the country’s population. They entered the territory of new Congo between the 10th and the 14th century from the north and the west and established kingdoms that were flourishing at the time of Western penetration after the 16 century. The big kingdoms were those of the Kongo, Teke, Lunda, Yaka, Pende, Kuba, and Tetala peoples. Big cultural clusters today contain the Mongo, the Kongo, the Lunda, the Luba and the Bema and the Kasai. Bantu peoples in the northeast and north include the the Bira, the Buja, the Lega, and the Kuumu.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Your Comment on this tour

error: Content is protected !!